Construction Workforce Awards

Honoring the best in the construction community.

The ABC Construction Workforce Awards features the Craft Instructor of the Year, the Craft Professional of the Year, and Young Professional of the Year. These individuals play critical roles in shaping the future of the construction industry by highlighting construction as a meaningful life-long career, emphasizing safe work practices and reinforcing education opportunities.

Click on each award below to submit a nomination for the ABC Workforce Development Awards. Please be sure to review the Rules and Regulations for each award before submitting a nomination.


Craft Instructor of the Year (CIOY)

The Craft Instructor of the Year award recognizes outstanding craft professionals who shape the minds of the future construction workforce. CIOYs are recognized for their unwavering dedication, focus on safety, demonstration of leadership, community and industry service and their strong belief in the Merit Shop philosophy.


Craft Professional of the Year (CPOY)

Each year, ABC presents the Craft Professional of the Year (CPOY) award to an individual who sets a high standard for professionals in their craft by exhibiting outstanding skills and leadership. The recipient of this national award demonstrates a passion for the trade, taking pride in hands-on work and the satisfaction of a job well done to benefit both the construction industry and the greater community. The winner is a master of skills whose commitment to excellence makes him or her the ultimate example of merit-shop success in the field.


Young Professional of the Year (YPOY)

Do you know a young professional who is dedicated to the merit shop, a natural-born leader and a top performer? Nominate this individual for ABC Young Professional of the Year. The top three finalists will be recognized and the winner announced at ABC Convention in Nashville, March 23-27. To be eligible, the nominee must be employed by an ABC member and under the age of 40.